107 Comments
Jan 21, 2021Liked by Tricia Conover

One of my favorite chards is Rombauer. I recently tasted and really like Penner-Ash Viognier from Oregon.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2021Liked by Tricia Conover

Last night to prep myself for today & sampled a couple of unusual wines. I had a Xarmant Txakoli & a Malbo Gentile from Venturini Baldini in Sicily. I enjoyed both. The Txakoli might appeal to Chablis drinkers. It has super high acid, some pear. some lemon, some lime pith. It would definitely pair well with seafood the way Chablis can. The grape is usually found in Spanish Cava. The Malbo was one of the darker wines you will ever see. It is soft, with some game, & earthiness. Somewhat reminiscent of a Cote du Rhone. Great bitter cherry notes as it opens. Some chocolate. The wine is still a bit rustic, but really delicious. I think that if you like lighter earthier Cabernets, this might work for you. It's another grape you usually see in sparkling wine. It's a component of Lambrusco

Expand full comment
author

Let's talk about Best Value Cabs and Chardonnays, if you are determined to stick with your favorite varietals

Expand full comment
author

Here is a thought. I have an article on Priorat coming out for you Premium members on Saturday. A really nicely extracted Garnacha/Grenache usually appeals to Cab drinkers ...much like a Chateauneuf-du-Pape

Expand full comment
author

New Topic: How hard is it to convince a pure Cab drinker to try a Blend?

Expand full comment
author

Bordeaux Blanc or White Bordeaux is a great suggestion for a Chardonnay drinker. Much more mouthfeel than a Sauvignon Blanc. More weight.

Expand full comment
author

Join us again soon. I'd like to propose the popularity of Red Blends to Cab Drinkers next.

Expand full comment
author

It's pretty early for our West Coast friends. One alternative to think about for Chard drinkers is a sec or demi-sec Sparkling wine like Schramsberg's Cremant. It's terrific with desserts, too. How about for a sweeter breakfast for you Californian's.

Expand full comment
author

Of course, the industry did show some effect from the Movie Sideways, as there were less Merlot drinkers and more Pinot Noir Drinkers. I will post a story I did 10 years after the movie.

Expand full comment
author

Good morning to you both. Thanks for your perspective, Phillip. Terry, What are your suggestions?

Expand full comment
author

Phillip and Terry (Dr. Lease). What wines do you see wine drinkers go to if they normally drink Cab and Chardonnay?

Expand full comment
author

Join us at 9 AM Thursday. Asking you: are you in a wine rut?

Expand full comment

While we don't have any paying guests to run off, I will go a little geeky--not wine geeky, just plain geeky. There is a line of decision-making research usually traced back to Kahneman and Tversky. The former won the Nobel memorial prize in Economics in 2002 for this research (the latter had passed away before then) and became more well-known to the general public when he published "Thinking, Fast and Slow." In part, the research showed that people place more value on something in the context of losing it than in the context of gaining it.

I think that often impacts the wine people order. I may not LOVE (favorite brand) Chardonnay, but I like it and know what I'm getting. If I order (wine-geek suggested wine), I may not like it and then lose the money, the enjoyment of the wine, and maybe "face" in front of my friends. Those potential losses mean more than the potential of finding a new great (even favorite) wine.

Expand full comment

I'm back after a video call with a French wine company & an importer of French wine to Spain. So I have been talking French wine for a while. So now I'm thinking of some other white wines from France that are worth a try. Let me know which ones you suggest.

I was thinking about...

Muscadet-used to be pretty bland, but now has a little more melon to go with the cream. It can have a nice saline quality. Probably a wine for light Chardonnay fans.

Picpoul de Pinet is kind of similar, but with even higher acid & more mineral & salinity. Maybe a wine for Chablis fans.

Sémillon-I would go for the Australian style here. Aged Australian Sémillon can have great smoky flavors & taste like oak even though it doesn't necessarily see any.

Bordeaux Blanc with its blend of Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon, & sometimes Muscadelle can be a way to get into Sauvignon Blanc without getting over the top on the green vegetal notes you see in New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.

Expand full comment

New question: It is our anniversary tonight and (here it comes, Tricia - the food pairing question) we are having Chilean Sea Bass and lobster tails. What wine would you recommend?

Expand full comment

I have a quick call with a French producer & might be out for a bit.

Expand full comment

My puppy (Tokaji--yes, I named my dog after a wine) has gotten through his post-breakfast rest time and wants his morning walk. I am going to have to take a 30 - 45 minute break soon.

Expand full comment

I have a theory--completely untested. If someone asks for a Cab, you could pour almost any Cab (as long as it isn't actually bad). The person may like it more or may like it less, but they wouldn't say they don't like it at all. But if someone who likes stereotypical big, oaky California Chardonnay asks for a Chardonnay and you pour a Chablis, the person would say "excuse me, I asked for a Chardonnay, not this."

Expand full comment

Good morning!

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment